Unpaid Overtime

Why Working For £0 Extra Is Killing Us

Claire McGregor
4 min readAug 7, 2022
Photo by Alex Kotliarskyi on Unsplash

Let’s talk about unpaid overtime. Do you work for free too? I’ve been feeling pretty damned burned out lately. I have no energy, and my lack of motivation means I’m neglecting my health. I’m falling back on processed foods and takeaways and not exercising. I know it’s bad for me, and I need to take action, but I am honestly struggling.

So, why am I burned out? Well, firstly because I am doing unpaid overtime. I work in finance, and there are very tight deadlines for month and year-end. I work as part of a very small team where there is no cover if you’re off work. In June, I caught covid and then later in the month had 3 days holiday booked. It’s taken me until now to catch up.

During July’s month end, I worked an average of an extra hour a day for a week. On my final deadline day, I worked all day, then from 9 pm to past midnight. As a result, my energy levels are at zero.

In addition to my full-time job, I have a couple of writing clients, so I have to work a few evenings a week for them. Last but definitely not least, I write this blog twice a week, although lately, I’ve only had enough energy to post once a week.

That is all more than enough, but to put the cherry on top, I’m living and working with chronic fatigue syndrome too.

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com