Three Body Liberation Rules To Remember…

For TimesYou’re Feeling Bad About Your Body

Claire McGregor
4 min readAug 21, 2022
Photo by Sofia Shultz from Pexels

Today let’s talk about body liberation rules. I think that the combined influences of the beauty industry, fashion industry, plastic surgeons, and society’s fatphobic indoctrination has led us to a place where almost no one is happy with their body.

An Ipsos Mori study in 2021 found that 45% of the world’s population was trying to lose weight! That’s almost half. This figure is even worse in Chile; it’s 60%. The picture isn’t much better in the USA, Peru, Spain, Singapore and Saudi Arabia, where it’s at more than 50%.

It’s also too much to hope that all these people will be trying to lose weight safely. Unfortunately, many unsafe and even dangerous diets are touted as the next miracle cure. It must end.

I am all for eating a healthy, balanced diet and moving your body in a way you enjoy. Honestly, I am. However, I also believe for the world’s mental health and that of generations to come, we must move away from this obsession with looks.

So, if you’re struggling with the way you look and it’s hurting you, check out the body liberation rules. (Of course, they’re not actually rules, more like guidelines. Find the ones that work for you)

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com