It’s Wrong To Comment On Other People’s Weight

Please Don’t Be A Jerk!

Claire McGregor
4 min readDec 6, 2021
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

Today’s post comes from a place of a little anger and a lot of sadness. In this day and age why is commenting on someone else’s weight still seen as ok? It’s not but it seems the world at large hasn’t got the memo.

My idea for this post was sparked by two separate posts from influencers I follow. In the first, the poster had the wonderful news she was pregnant. Unfortunately, she was left in tears throughout her appointment with a midwife. What should have been a happy, joyful event was ruined by this entirely unprofessional person.

They made comments like “you need to tape up the chocolate box and do more Joe Wicks”, “I know it’s hard.. we’d all like to be a size 12', and “have you thrown out the Christmas snacks yet?” This makes my blood boil. They had absolutely no right to make those comments.

Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Another poster was merely walking along the street only to have a complete stranger walk up to her and inform her she was too fat to wear leggings. WTF is wrong with people? It’s completely socially unacceptable now to criticise someone for looking gay, wearing ethnic clothes or being…

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com