Intersectionality And Fat Folks

Activists Must Embrace It In The Battle For Freedom

Claire McGregor
4 min readMay 12, 2022
Photo by Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

If you’ve ever read my blog you’ll know one of the key topics I discuss is the fact that I am fat. It’s also a fact that I am okay with being fat. It’s taken a lot of work but I truly love myself just the way I am.

My happiness doesn’t mean that I don’t come under the blanket of society’s prejudices about fat people though. I’m seen as unattractive if not downright ugly. I’m seen as lazy or greedy. People assume that I either don’t like to exercise or I don’t know how to exercise. They are extra effusive in their praise if they see me at the gym. Patronising much?

Until I read about intersectionality the types of discrimination I don’t suffer had never occurred to me.

My Privilege

With the exception of being fat, I know that my life is one of privilege. A lot of privilege. Here’s a list:

  • I am white
  • My sexuality is straight, and even more than straight I’m married, which takes a big old box in the conservative sections of society
  • My gender is cisnormative
  • I live in the western world, which is a world of plenty — I never worry about where my next meal is coming from

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com