Fear holding you back? Here’s how to fight it.

Do you have hopes, dreams and ambitions swirling around your head that you want to achieve but feel something is holding you back? Me too! It might be fear — here’s how I learned to fight it.

Claire McGregor
7 min readSep 29, 2020
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

I think we all have dreams. Some are definitely to be relegated to the realm of fantasy. For example, however diligently you follow what I’m about to set down it’s doubtful you’ll get a date with George Clooney, play for Manchester United or become a billionaire.

There are usually dreams we have that are more realistic which strangely makes them scarier. They seem so tantalisingly close, so possible. But What If?!

If you’re anything like me it’s the what-ifs that keep you paralysed. Dithering about taking the plunge. Deciding one day that Yes! You are going to do it tomorrow. Then when tomorrow comes the what-ifs bombard you and you chicken out.

I have lived a lot of my 40 years feeling this way. Taking fairly entry-level jobs because I was afraid to fail if I aimed higher. Not taking up hobbies that looked like fun because I was afraid people would laugh at me. Not approaching men I found attractive because I was fat and I was convinced they’d reject me.

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com