Dysthymia. The Depression No One Talks About

Let’s Do It Now

Claire McGregor
5 min readFeb 2, 2022
Photo by Daria Litvinova on Unsplash

Mental health issues are still something of a taboo subject, particularly in certain sections of society. It is improving but not as fast as I’d like. There also is nowhere near enough funding to treat mental health problems on the NHS. In the USA it’s even worse!

It has never been more important to pay attention to your mental health than now. Covid-19 and lockdown have had a massive impact on everybody. If you don’t believe me consider the tragic case of Nikki Grahame of Big Brother fame. This beautiful, bright woman tragically lost her battle with anorexia Over lockdown. Her mother blamed the effects of lockdown as the last straw.

Although it didn’t help this poor soul, there is eating disorder support and knowledge out there. There’s also a lot of discussion of anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder and even borderline personality disorder. What articles and social media don’t discuss, however, is dysthymia or persistent depressive disorder. That’s why I’m going to explain the symptoms of dysthymia in the hope it may encourage you to seek help if you feel you’re affected.

What Is Dysthymia?

Dysthymia is depression, normally mild to moderate, that lasts a long time. In adults, the…

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com