8 Hot Weather Survival Tips From A Fat Girl

Yes Number 8 Was Actually Published In The Tabloids!

Claire McGregor
6 min readAug 11, 2022
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

If you’re in the UK right now, you might be finding it uncomfortably toasty. Everyone can find it hard to cope with the heat, but fat folks have challenges others may not. So here are my hot weather survival tips if you’re fat. This is something of a follow on from my summer self care tips but these tips are geared more towards coping with the heat.

PS I’m not gatekeeping! If you’re not fat and feel these tips are useful, please feel free to use them.

Tip One: Dress For The Weather

One of the awful effects of the rampant fatphobia in our society is that fat people believe their bodies are ugly and must be covered at all times in public. I hate this philosophy in general; it makes me sad and angry enough to scream. In hot weather, though, it’s beyond fatphobic and could actually be dangerous.

So, the first of my hot weather survival tips is this: please, PLEASE, dress in cool clothes when the mercury rises. Everyone is allowed to wear short sundresses, shorts, vests, and even bikinis! Do not sit sweltering, fully covered, and risk dehydration or heatstroke to make other people more comfortable. If someone doesn’t like how you look, it’s their problem! They can…

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com