5 Important Lessons Hidden In Ted Lasso

Claire McGregor
4 min readJun 30, 2022

I recently became a huge Ted Lasso fan. I’d heard it was good, but I was wary as humour can be very subjective. I was blown away. It was so funny and sweet and heartwarming, and my heart melted. I have now watched it through twice, back-to-back, and on my second viewing, I realised there are a lot of important lessons hidden in Ted Lasso.

I think that’s what separates good entertainment and truly great entertainment. Good entertainment keeps you interested; great entertainment teaches you and makes you think too.

If you haven’t watched the show yet, I will try to keep spoilers to a bare minimum.

Important Lessons Hidden In Ted Lasso

Lesson 1 — Attitude Is Key

The comedy hook for the show is that Ted is an American Football coach who has zero knowledge about British football, the rules, tactics, etc. Everyone laughs at him and waits for him to fail spectacularly, and at times he does. In the end, though, it all comes good. Why? Because he knows that inspiring the team and teaching them to believe in themselves is far more important.

I saw a great quote once that says whether you believe you can do it or you can’t, you’re right. A positive attitude and belief in yourself will take you far further in life than…

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com