10 Things That Surprised Me On My Trip To New York

No, not tipping or taxes

Claire McGregor
4 min readJan 9, 2023
Photo by David Groves on Unsplash

If you read my recent article on travel anxiety, you’ll know I recently went on holiday to New York. I’ve dreamed about going for over 20 years. You see New York so often in tv shows and movies that you cannot help but feel you already know the city. Of course, I knew that it would be different really, and even though I went with few expectations, I was still surprised.

DISCLAIMER: To all the New York residents and New York lovers out there, I am not taking potshots at your city. Some of the surprises were good, and some were bad, but they are only my opinion, and I want to stress I still loved my trip.

1) The Smell Of Weed

I am delighted to hear that cannabis has been decriminalised. I genuinely wish everywhere else would follow suit. I cannot see any good reason to criminalise it when alcohol, which causes as many problems, is freely available.

However, the flip side is that many public areas of the city absolutely reek of it. That’s fine if you’re someone like my sister who lives the smell. I do not, and it was a little overwhelming. Probably something for me to bear in mind when I advocate for legalising it in the UK too.

2) How Clean The Streets Are

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com