10 Dangerous Diet Culture Myths Part 1

Claire McGregor
4 min readOct 24, 2021

There’s a lot of BS out there!

Photo by Jamie Matociños on Unsplash

One of my main aims when I started CMooMuses, was to dispel a lot of the bullshit out there that perpetuates fatphobia. So let’s explore 10 dangerous diet culture myths that need to end now.

Myth No 1 — Our Weight Is Entirely Under Our Control

If I hear “Move more and eat less” one more time, then shit is gonna get real! It is such a stupid and harmful oversimplification of a tremendously complicated issue. Weight control cannot be defined by the formula of calories in vs calories out.

The National Institute of Diabetic and Kidney Diseases in America lists twelve factors that can affect your weight, and none of these is nutrition-related. They are:

  • Family History or Genes
  • Race or Ethnicity
  • Age
  • Sex
  • Eating and physical activity habits
  • Where you live, work, play, and worship
  • Family habits and culture
  • Not enough sleep
  • Certain medical conditions
  • Certain medicines
  • Binge eating disorder
  • Stress

You’ll note none of…

--

--

Claire McGregor

I’m a writer taking my time to learn what good writing’s about and get my blog off the ground. I want to connect and learn. My Blog https://www.cmoomuses.com